Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Melinda Moustakis, Hananah Zaheer & Arna Bontemps Hemenway 

January 31 @ 3:00 pm - 4:00 pm AKST

Watch this event online at https://aqreview.org/aqr-benefit-reading-series/.

Melinda Moustakis was born in Fairbanks, Alaska and grew up in California. She is the author of Bear Down, Bear North: Alaska Stories, winner of the 2010 Flannery O’Connor Award in Short Fiction, the Maurice Prize, and 5 Under 35 selection by the National Book Foundation. Her work has appeared in Alaska Quarterly Review, American Short Fiction, Granta, Kenyon Review, New England Review, and elsewhere.

Moustakis is the recipient of the Hodder Fellowship from The Lewis Center of the Arts at Princeton University, the NEA Literature Fellowship in Fiction, the Kenyon Review Fellowship at Kenyon College, the Jenny McKean Moore Writer-in-Washington Fellowship at George Washington University, the Rona Jaffe Cullman Fellowship at the New York Public Library, and an O. Henry Prize.

Hananah Zaheer’s work has appeared in Alaska Quarterly Review, Virginia Quarterly, McSweeney’s Internet Tendency, South West Review, and Michigan Quarterly Review, winning the Lawrence Foundation Prize for Fiction. She was awarded a Tennessee Williams Scholarship in Fiction at the Sewanee Writers’ Conference for 2019, and her short story “Fish Tank” was a Distinguished Story mention in The Best American Short Stories 2019, initially appeared in Alaska Quarterly Review. She was a finalist for the Smoke Long Fellowship 2019, the Doris Betts’ Fiction prize 2014, and a recipient of residencies and fellowships from the Virginia Center for the Creative Arts, Rivendell writers’ colony, and the Ragdale Foundation. She is a freelance developmental editor and a Fiction Editor for Los Angeles Review.

Arna Bontemps Hemenway is originally from Kentucky and specializes in creative writing workshop and craft. He is the author of the collection of short stories Elegy on Kinderklavier. His fiction has appeared in or is forthcoming in Alaska Quarterly Review, A Public Space, Five Chapters, Ecotone, The Missouri Review, The Seattle Review, Meridian Literary Review, and Bat City Review, among others, and has been honored as a Distinguished/Notable Story of the Year in both the Best American Short Stories and Best American Nonrequired Reading anthologies. Hemenway has served as the Peter Taylor Scholar of Fiction Writing at the Sewanee Writers’ Conference, a Truman Capote Fellow of Fiction Writing, and the John C. Schupes Fellow of Fiction Writing at the Iowa Writers’ Workshop. His story “The Fugue,” that initially appeared in Alaska Quarterly Review, was subsequently selected for inclusion in The Best American Short Stories.


January 31
3:00 pm - 4:00 pm AKST


Alaska Quarterly Review